Murtoa Heritage Trail

Be sure to Explore History with an interesting and easy walking or driving trail around the town of Murtoa, while providing plenty of photo opportunities.

Download the Heritage Trail brochure as a guide to Murtoa’s historic buildings… while exploring new and improved businesses.

Set off on an adventure

Murtoa was named after the Aboriginal word meaning ‘home of the lizard’ in 1873 when the original township survey was completed following excision from the massive 1840’s Longerenong  squatter’s sheep run operated by the Wilson family. Early settlers came from South Australia to mark their farm allotments to grow grain in the good soils.

Murtoa is one of those fortunate Wimmera towns where the heritage has been largely preserved.

Murtoa has several heritage listed buildings. Walk around the 1886 old Water Tower which once serviced the town and railway water supplies, the 1890 Concordia Cottage – the last remaining building of the original Concordia College, the 1878 restored Railway Station, the 1941 grain storage ‘Stick Shed’ and the avenue of heritage Kurrajong trees in Comyn Street, being the first native avenue planting in Victoria.

Follow the trail to see the Mechanics Hall, featured in The Dressmaker movie, Marma Gully Hotel undergoing restoration, the beautiful Lake Marma featuring the Rotunda, Sprott Fountain and the magnificent Memorial Arch. And then view a stunning sunset over the lake at the end of your day.

There is much more to explore around Murtoa and do drop in for refreshments at our local cafés.

1murtoa-150th-book 8719 Rgb-72lpi2murtoa-hall-8074 Rgb-72lpi
Download Brochure